Category: Education

  • Sat, 1600-08-26

    This date celebrates Gullah, an African-American language, mainly spoken along the Southeastern coast of the United States, especially on the Sea...

  • Sat, 1600-12-23

    *The term African American is celebrated on this dates Registry.

    In August of 2005, an Ethiopian-born activist named Abdulaziz Kamus...

  • Tue, 1735-11-29

    The birth of Francis Barber in 1735 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black slave who became a businessmen and educator.

    Barber was...

  • Tue, 1763-10-18

    John Chavis, a Black educator was born on this date in 1763. He was born in North Carolina to a legally free family, which allowed him to pursue...

  • Sat, 1795-09-26

    This date marks the birth of Alexander Lucius Twilight in 1795. He was one of the the first Black college graduates in the United States.

    ...
  • Tue, 1796-11-01

    On this date in 1796, the first school for Blacks in America opened.

    The African Free School was begun in New York City by the...

  • Sun, 1814-11-06

    William Wells Brown was born on this date in 1814. He was a Black antislavery lecturer, a groundbreaking novelist, a playwright, and a historian...

  • Mon, 1816-12-16

    William Cooper Nell, a Black lecturer, journalist, and historian was born on this date in 1816.

    He was born in Boston to William and...

  • Tue, 1818-07-21

    *Charles L. Reason was born on this date in 1818. He was a Black mathematician, abolitionist and teacher.

    Charles Lewis Reason was from...

  • Tue, 1825-05-03

    On this date in 1825, Laura Matilda Towne was born. She was a White American educator and abolitionist.

    From Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania,...

  • Thu, 1826-02-16

    *The birth of Martin Freeman in 1826 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black educator, and administrator.

    From Rutland, Vermont,...

  • Mon, 1828-12-08

    Clinton Fisk was born on this date in 1828. He was a White American soldier, prohibitionist, businessman, and educator.

    Born near the...

  • Tue, 1833-03-26

    On this date we celebrate the birth of Joseph Corbin, born in 1833. He was a Black teacher, editor, and the highest-ranking Black official in...

  • Mon, 1833-09-02

    *Oberlin College was founded on this date in 1833. It has one of the most revered African American history of any American college.

    It is...

  • Tue, 1835-03-10

    *On this date in 1835, we celebrate the Noyes Academy in New Hampshire. In March of that year, twenty-eight Whites and fourteen Blacks commenced...

  • Thu, 1837-03-23

    Frances (Fanny) Jackson Coppin was born on this date in 1837. She was a Black school principal, church and civic leader, and one of the leading...

  • Sat, 1837-05-27

    Cheyney University of Pennsylvania was founded in 1837 on this date. Though not issuing degrees when founded, it is the oldest American...

  • Thu, 1837-09-07

    On this date, the Registry looks at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) in America.

    At their beginning in the 1830s, the...

  • Sat, 1840-09-12

    The birth of Mary Jane Patterson in 1840 is celebrated on this date. She was a Black teacher.

    Born in Raleigh, NC, Patterson was the...

  • Wed, 1841-04-28

    *The birth of Professor William H. Crogman in 1841 is celebrated on this date. He was an African American educator.

    Born in the West...