Category: Education

  • Sun, 1880-04-11

    Willa Townsend was born on this date in 1880. She was an African American educator.

    From Nashville, TN Willa Ann Hadley Townsend was...

  • Tue, 1880-08-24

    *The opening of the Hygienic School in 1880 is celebrated on this date. This was a school for Black opened during American Reconstruction....

  • Mon, 1881-01-17

    *Tillotson College began education classes on this date in 1881. Now known as Huston-Tillotson University (HTU), it is one of over 100...

  • Mon, 1881-04-11

    This date recalls the 1881 founding of Spelman College. They are one of over 100 historically Black Colleges and Universities in America.

    ...
  • Mon, 1881-09-19

    *Tuskegee University was founded on this date in 1881. Located in Tuskegee, Alabama, it is one of over 100 Historical Black Colleges and...

  • Mon, 1881-10-03

    *Dudley Weldon Woodard was born on this date in 1881. He was an African American mathematician.

    From Galveston Texas his father worked...

  • Mon, 1882-03-06

    *Virginia State University was founded on this date in 1882. They are one of 100 historically Black colleges and university's in America.

    ...

  • Fri, 1882-03-24

    *Paine College was founded on this date in 1882. It is one of over 100 Historical Black Colleges & Universities (HBCU) in America.

    ...

  • Wed, 1883-06-06

    Portia Washington Pittman was born on this date in 1883, in Tuskegee, AL. She was an African American musician and teacher, and the only daughter...

  • Mon, 1883-06-11

    On this date in 1883, Charlotte Eugenia Hawkins Brown was born. She was an African American civic leader and educator who founded the Palmer...

  • Tue, 1883-08-14

    *This date marks the birth of Ernest Everett Just in 1883. He was an African American biologist and educator who taught at Howard University for...

  • Thu, 1883-09-06

    Joel Augustus Rogers was born on this date in 1883. He was an African American writer, lecturer, anthropologist, historian, journalist, and...

  • Thu, 1885-10-15

    *On this date in 1885, Morris Brown College in Atlanta was founded. It is one of over 100 Historically Black Colleges and Universities in America...

  • Sat, 1885-10-31

    *The birth of Clara Belle Williams in 1885 is celebrated on this date. She was an African American educator.

    Born Clara Belle Drisdale...

  • Mon, 1886-09-13

    This date marks the birth of Alain Locke in 1885. He was an African American philosopher, intellectual, and educator, and credited with defining...

  • Mon, 1886-09-13

    *The University of Maryland Eastern was founded on this date in 1886,. It is one of over 100 Historical Black Colleges and Universities in...

  • Mon, 1886-09-13

    *This date in 1886, marks the origin of Princess Anne Academy. This was one of the schools for Blacks that paved the way towards America’s many...

  • Mon, 1887-01-17

    *Solomon D. Spady was born on this date in 1887. He was an African American teacher, scientist and administrator.

    Solomon Spady was born...

  • Wed, 1887-02-16

    *The Registry celebrates the opening of the Glass Hill School on this date in 1887. This was one of many primary education schools for Blacks...

  • Wed, 1887-07-27

    Central State University was founded on this day in 1887 in Ohio. It is one of more than 100 Historically Black Colleges and Universities in...