Category: Education

  • Fri, 1887-09-30

    Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University was founded in Tallahassee, FL, on this date in 1887. FAMU is one of over 100 Historical Black...

  • Tue, 1887-10-11

    The beginning of Kentucky State University (KSU) in 1886 is celebrated on this date. It is one of over 100 Historical Black Colleges and...

  • Tue, 1888-08-07

    *On this date in 1888, Diana McNeil Pierson was born. She was an African American educator and missionary.

    From Pluka, Maryland, Liberia...

  • Sat, 1889-02-16

    *Hazel Mountain Walker was born on this date in 1889. She was an African American lawyer and educator.

    From Warren, Ohio, she was the...

  • Sun, 1889-03-17

    *The Hungerford School’s establishment in 1889 is celebrated on this date. Modeled after Alabama's Tuskegee Institute, the Eatonville, Florida...

  • Sun, 1890-01-12

    On this date in 1890, Mordecai Johnson was born. He was an African American educator, clergyman, administrator, and public speaker.

    ...

  • Thu, 1890-04-17

    The founding of Harris-Stowe State College (HSSC) in 1890 is celebrated on this date. It is one of over 100 historical Black Colleges and...

  • Sun, 1890-05-25

    The birth of Martha Euphemia Lofton Haynes, an African American mathematician and teacher in 1890, is celebrated on this date.

    She was...

  • Tue, 1890-05-27

    Vivian Harsh was born on this date in 1890. She was an African American librarian, historian, and administrator, who made an important...

  • Tue, 1891-03-03

    *Elizabeth City State University (ECSU) was founded on this date in 1891. ECSU is one of over 100 historically Black Colleges and Universities in...

  • Mon, 1891-03-09

    *On this date in 1891, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University was founded. They are one of over 100 historically Black...

  • Tue, 1891-03-17

    *On this date in 1891, West Virginia State University was founded. It is one of over 100 Historically Black Colleges and Universities in America...

  • Thu, 1891-03-19

    *The birth of Bessie Bruington Burke, in 1891, is celebrated on this date. She was an African American educator and administrator, from Los...

  • Fri, 1891-05-15

    Delaware State University was founded on this date in 1891.

    The Morrill Act of 1890 established the State College for Colored Students,...

  • Wed, 1891-12-02

    *This date marks the birth of Charles Harris Wesley in 1891. He was an African American historian, educator, and minister who was an early...

  • Mon, 1892-12-26

    On this date's Registry, we celebrate the founding of Mary Holmes College in 1892. It is one of over 100 Historical Black Colleges and University...

  • Sun, 1894-02-25

    *William Hansberry was born on this date in 1894. He was an African American educator and scholar.

    From Gloster, Mississippi, William...

  • Fri, 1894-08-17

    *The founding of Texas College in 1894 is celebrated on this date. One of over 100 historically Black colleges and universities, Texas College is...

  • Mon, 1894-09-24

    On this date in 1894, E. Franklin Frazier was born. He was an African American sociologist.

    Born in Baltimore, Md., Edward Franklin...

  • Thu, 1895-02-28

    *This date in 1895 marks the founding of Bluefield State College.

    One of over 100 historically black colleges and universities in...