Category: Activist / Abolitionist.

  • Fri, 1813-02-05

    The birth of Jermain Wesley Loguen is celebrated on this date in 1813. He was a Black abolitionist and religious leader.

    Born into...

  • Sat, 1813-03-13

    *This date celebrates the birth of Harriet Jacobs in 1813. She was an African-American abolitionist and author.

    Born into slavery in...

  • Thu, 1813-06-24

    Henry Ward Beecher was born on this date in 1813. He was a White American abolitionist, speaker and writer.

    The eighth son of the Rev....

  • Tue, 1813-10-19

    On this date, we celebrate the birth of Anna Murray Douglass, a Black abolitionist, born in 1813.

    Murray Douglass was from near Denton in...

  • Thu, 1813-11-18

    *The birth of Samuel Burris in 1813 is remembered on this date. He was a black abolitionist and member of the Underground Railroad.

    ...

  • Sat, 1814-04-02

    *The birth of Shadrach Minkins in 1814 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black fugitive slave.

    Born in Norfolk, Virginia, he escaped...

  • Fri, 1814-08-19

    *On this date in 1814, Mary Ellen Pleasant was born. She was an African American abolitionist, businesswoman, and entrepreneur for over fifty...

  • Sat, 1815-03-25

    *The birth of Henry Box Brown, in 1815, is celebrated on this date. He was a Black abolitionist and writer.

    Brown was born a slave...

  • Sun, 1815-03-26

    *The birth of George DeBaptiste, in 1815, is celebrated on this date. He was a Black abolitionist and businessman.

    Born in Virginia...

  • Wed, 1815-09-27

    The birth of Bethany Veney in 1815 is celebrated on this date. She was a Black woman author.

    Veney was born a slave in Luray Page County...

  • Sun, 1815-11-12

    *Elizabeth Cady Stanton was born on this date in 1815. She was a White American abolitionist and feminist.

    Elizabeth Cady Stanton, the...

  • Wed, 1815-12-06

    Jane Cannon Swisshelm was born in on this date in 1815. She was a White American educator, publisher, and abolitionist.

    She was born...

  • Sat, 1815-12-23

    On this date in 1815, Henry H. Garnet was born. He was a Black theologian and abolitionist.

    Born in Kent County, MD, he was the son of...

  • Fri, 1817-02-14

    *Frederick Douglass was born on this date in 1817. He was a Black abolitionist, orator, and writer who escaped slavery and urged other Blacks to...

  • Mon, 1817-03-24

    *The birth of Charles Langston in 1817 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black slave, editor, abolitionist and teacher.

    From Louisa...

  • Fri, 1817-10-17

    Rev. Samuel Ringgold Ward was born on this date in 1817. He was a Black abolitionist and minister.

    Born a slave on Maryland's Eastern...

  • Thu, 1818-01-15

    On this date we remember the birth of Elizabeth Keckley in 1818. She was a Black domestic, author, and abolitionist.

    Born at the...

  • Thu, 1818-08-13

    *Lucy Stone was born on this date in 1818. She was a White American reformer, who was a pioneer in the abolitionist movement and women's rights...

  • Sat, 1819-08-28

    *The birth of Elijah H. Gammon in 1819 is celebrated on this date. He was an White American minister, businessman and abolitionist.

    ...

  • Sat, 1820-01-29

    *On this date we remember the birth of Harriet Ross Tubman in 1820. She was a Black abolitionist who escaped from slavery and returned to the...