Category: Activist / Abolitionist.

  • Wed, 1866-11-21

    *Duse Mohamed Ali was born on this date in 1866. He was an African actor, journalist, businessman and pan Africanist.

    Born in Alexandria...

  • Sun, 1867-03-10

    *Lillian Wald was born on this date in 1867. She was a White Jewish American civil rights activist, health worker, and educator.

    From...

  • Sun, 1867-03-17

    *Ida Rebecca Cummings was born on this date in 1867. She was an African American educator, organization leader, and clubwoman.

    From...

  • Sun, 1868-02-23

    *This date marks the birth of W.E.B. Du Bois in 1868. He was an African American sociologist, one of the most important Black protest leaders...

  • Tue, 1868-06-02

    On this date, we mark the birth of John Hope in 1868. Born in Augusta, Georgia, he was an African American civil rights activist and educator....

  • Sun, 1871-02-19

    *This date marks the birth of Lugenia Burns Hope in 1871. She was an African American social reformer.

    From St. Louis, Mo., Hope gained...

  • Thu, 1872-04-25

    Minnie Lee Crosthwaite’s birth in 1872 is celebrated on this date. She was an African American social worker and community leader.

    Born...

  • Mon, 1875-05-17

    Joel Elias Spingarn, a Jewish American educator, literary critic, and activist, was born on this date in 1875 in New York City.

    He was...

  • Sat, 1875-07-10

    Mary McLeod Bethune, African American civil rights administrator and educator was born on this date in 1875.

    One of 17 children of Samuel...

  • Tue, 1876-11-07

    *Lethia Fleming was born on this date in 1876. She was an African American campaign organizer, women’s and civil rights activist and politician...

  • Wed, 1876-11-08

    Eartha Mary Magdalene White was born on this date in 1876. She was an African American vocalist, educator, administrator, and humanitarian....

  • Sat, 1878-01-26

    *Stephen Edward (S.E.) Hall was born on this date in 1878. He was an African American businessman and civil rights activist.

    One of five...

  • Thu, 1878-03-28

    *On this date in 1878 Arthur Spingarn was born. He was an Jewish American historian, lawyer and activist.

    From New York City, in 1897...

  • Sun, 1878-12-15

    On this date in 1878, Kathryn Magnolia Johnson was born. She was an African American civil rights activist.

    She was born in Drake County...

  • Mon, 1881-05-23

    *The birth of Frank Boyd in 1881 is celebrated on this date. He was an African American Pullman Porter and labor activist.

    Born in...

  • Sun, 1882-12-03

    The birth of John Wesley Dobbs in 1882 is celebrated on this date. He was an African American postal clerk, civic leader, and activist.

    ...

  • Wed, 1882-12-13

    *On this date in 1882 Jane Edna Hunter was born. She was an African American activist and reformer.

    From South Carolina, Hunter’s life...

  • Fri, 1883-02-09

    *Lawrence Nixon was born on this date in 1883. He was a Black physician and voting-rights advocate.

    Lawrence Aaron Nixon was born in...

  • Fri, 1883-04-27

    *The birth of Hubert Harrison in 1883 is marked on this date. He was an African American activist, educator, and writer.

    Born in St....

  • Sun, 1885-08-09

    *On this date in 1885, Richard B. Moore was born. He was an African American activist and businessman.

    From Barbados, he emigrated to New...