Category: Business

  • Fri, 1888-03-02

    *The Savings Bank of the Grand Fountain United Order of the True Reformers (GFUOTR) was chartered by the Virginia legislature on this date in...

  • Mon, 1888-05-14

    On this date in 1888, Archie Alexander was born. He was an African American design and construction engineer.

    He was born in Ottumwa,...

  • Tue, 1888-07-17

    On this date in 1888, Miriam E. Benjamin received a patent for an invention she called a Gong and Signal Chair for Hotels.

    Benjamin, a...

  • Tue, 1888-09-18

    *Jack Cooper was born on this date in1888. He was an African American ventriloquist, vaudeville performer, and radio announcer.

    From...

  • Wed, 1888-10-17

    On this date in 1888, one of the first banks for African-Americans was organized, Capital Savings Bank of Washington D.C.

    The beginnings...

  • Thu, 1889-01-17

    *Carl Murphy was born on this date in 1889. He was an African American Journalist, publisher, civil rights leader, and educator.

    Murphy...

  • Sun, 1889-07-21

    On this date in 1889, W. A. Martin, African American inventor, patented the lock. This device was an improvement over the 4000-year-old bolt...

  • Mon, 1889-09-16

    *On this date in 1889, Claude Barnett was born. He was an African American journalist and entrepreneur.

    From Sanford, Fla., Claude Albert...

  • Tue, 1890-01-07

    On this date in 1890, William B. Purvis was awarded a patent for a fountain pen.

    Purvis was from Philadelphia and obtained his first...

  • Sat, 1890-01-25

    *On this date in 1890, the National Afro-American League was formed. Put together by Timothy Thomas Fortune it preceded the NAACP.

    ...

  • Tue, 1890-03-04

    *For this date, the Registry celebrates the founding of the Black town of Langston Oklahoma, in 1890.

    This municipality is of national...

  • Sun, 1890-09-28

    *This date in 1890 celebrates the founding of Alabama Penny Savings Bank. It was Alabama’s first bank for Blacks one of the first three for...

  • Tue, 1890-12-09

    On this date in 1890 John P. Parker, African American businessman, and abolitionist patented the Soil Pulverizer.

    This agricultural...

  • Tue, 1891-04-28

    *On this date in 1891, inventor George Toliver was awarded a patent for ship vessel’s propeller.

    This African-American inventor’s patent...

  • Wed, 1892-06-08

    *Robert Lee Hill was born on this date in 1892. He was an African American sharecropper, and activist and founder of the Progressive Farmers and...

  • Mon, 1892-07-04

    On this date in 1892, A. G. Gaston was born. He was an African American businessman and financial activist.

    Born Arthur George Gaston...

  • Sat, 1892-08-13

    *On this date in 1892, the first issue of the Baltimore Afro-American newspaper hit the streets. This black owned and operated newspaper has...

  • Tue, 1892-12-06

    Theodore Lawless was born on this date in 1892. He was an African American dermatologist, philanthropist, and medical pioneer.

    He was...

  • Tue, 1894-01-16

    The founding of the Butler Street YMCA in 1894 is celebrated in this date.

    Located in Atlanta, this facility was informally known as The...

  • Wed, 1894-02-14

    *On this date in 1894, Mary Dawson was born. She was an African American musician, administrator, and teacher and the founding director of the...