Category: Episode

  • Wed, 1854-05-24

    On this date in 1854, fugitive slave Anthony Burns was returned to the South from Boston.

    Born a slave in Virginia, Burns was 20 when he...

  • Tue, 1854-05-30

    On this date in 1854, the U.S. Congress passed the Kansas-Nebraska Act that allowed voting residents (meaning primarily white males) in the...

  • Sun, 1854-07-16

    *On this date in 1854, Elizabeth Jennings was refused a seat on public Streetcar, setting off the first racial transportation lawsuit in America...

  • Mon, 1856-01-28

    *On this date in 1856, we celebrate the Margaret Garner story. This account is one of the most notorious runaway slave cases in pre-Civil War...

  • Fri, 1857-03-06

    *On this date in 1857, the United States Supreme Court ruled in the Dred Scott Case. It is believed by many to have been a key cause of the...

  • Thu, 1859-03-03

    *On this date in 1859, "the weeping time" of slavery occurred in African American heritage. This was the largest sale of human beings in the...

  • Sun, 1859-10-16

    On this date in 1859, abolitionist John Brown, who was white, and a group of his followers raided the Harpers Ferry Virginia arsenal.

    ...

  • Fri, 1859-12-16

    On this date in 1859, two of the five Black abolitionist in the raid on Harpers Ferry, Shields Green and John Anthony Copeland, were hanged. The...

  • Fri, 1861-04-12

    On this date in 1861, the Civil War began. This war is also referred to as "The War Between the States", "The War of Rebellion", or "The War for...

  • Fri, 1861-05-31

    The American Civil War, waged from 1861 to 1865, is remembered on this date.

    Before and during the Civil War, the North and South...

  • Sat, 1861-06-01

    The first encounter of the Civil War happened on this date in 1861 at the Fairfax Court House in Arlington Mills, Virginia.

    The result...

  • Fri, 1861-08-30

    On this date in 1854, John C. Fremont, issued a proclamation freeing the slaves of Missouri rebels. Lincoln revoked his proclamation.

    A...

  • Wed, 1861-09-25

    On this date in 1861, The Union Navy admitted Blacks for military service for the first time, almost a year before the army opened its ranks....

  • Tue, 1861-11-26

    On this date in 1861, West Virginia began the Secessionist Convention that would result in its breaking away from the Confederate state of...

  • Fri, 1862-02-21

    *On this date in 1862, Nathaniel Gordon was hanged for slave trading. He is the only person in American history executed for slave-trading....

  • Wed, 1862-04-16

    On this date in 1862, the nations capitol ended slavery. President Lincoln signed an act abolishing slavery in the District of Columbia, an...

  • Mon, 1862-05-12

    On this date in 1862, Black slaves commandeered the Confederate ship “the Planter.”

    It had just gotten dark on that evening in 1862, and...

  • Tue, 1862-05-20

    On this date in 1862, Congress passed the Homestead Act.

    This legislation gave authorized unrestricted settlement on public lands to...

  • Wed, 1862-12-31

    *On This date in 1862 the first Watch Night Services were celebrated in Back communities in America.

    The Watch Night service can be traced...

  • Thu, 1863-01-01

    *On this date in 1863, President Abraham Lincoln signed the Emancipation Proclamation; ordering that all slaves in rebel territory be freed....