Category: Episode

  • Fri, 1868-10-16

    On this date in 1868, a Black senator was assassinated in South Carolina.

    B.F. Randolph, a member of the South Carolina State...

  • Tue, 1868-11-03

    On this date in 1868, the first Black man was elected to the U.S. Congress

    John Willis Menard defeated a White candidate, 5,107 to 2,833...

  • Wed, 1870-03-30

    *On this date in 1870, the Fifteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution was ratified. This guaranteed African-American men the right to...

  • Tue, 1872-04-23

    On this date in 1872, Charlotte E. Ray became the first Black woman admitted to practice before the district Supreme Court (Washington D.C.)....

  • Sun, 1873-03-23

    On this date in 1873, Puerto Rico abolished slavery.

    Leaders of the Puerto Rican abolitionist movement, including José Jull6n Acosta,...

  • Sun, 1873-04-13

    *On this date in 1873, the Colfax Massacre happened. Also called the Colfax Riot, the violence erupted in Grant Parish Courthouse in Colfax,...

  • Mon, 1874-09-14

    *On this date in 1874, White Democrats seized the Louisiana statehouse in a takeover. This White resistance and occupation has been called the...

  • Tue, 1874-12-01

    *On this date in 1874, the Order of the Eastern Star was created. This is the oldest sorority-based Black women’s organization in America....

  • Mon, 1875-05-17

    On this date in 1875, the first Kentucky Derby was run with a Black man as the winning jockey.

    He (Oliver Lewis) rode three-year-old...

  • Wed, 1875-09-01

    *On this date in 1875, White Democrats attacked Republicans at Yazoo City, Mississippi. The riot happened because of the pressure on White...

  • Tue, 1875-11-02

    *On this date in 1875, The Mississippi Plan went into effect. Their state government was trying to prevent Black political participation using...

  • Tue, 1875-11-16

    On this date in 1875, Ethiopia won the Battle of Gundet over Egypt. This conflict was carefully observed in Black America due to a growing black...

  • Wed, 1876-05-03

    *On this date in 1876, a race riot happened in Indianapolis, Indiana over voting rights.

    Long after the 15th Amendment to the...

  • Sat, 1876-07-08

    *On this date in 1876, the Hamburg, Massacre occurred. This was a race riot between community's Black militia and Whites from the surrounding...

  • Thu, 1877-10-04

    On this date in 1877, the Registry celebrates the town of Nicodemus, Kansas, a brief haven for many Blacks from the old confederacy long before...

  • Wed, 1877-12-26

    Jim Crow Laws are featured on this date. These were any of the laws that enforced racial segregation in the American South between the end of the...

  • Sat, 1879-01-11

    On this date in 1879 the Zulu-British War began.

    The Zulu kingdom, centered on the southeast coast of southern Africa between the...

  • Fri, 1879-02-28

    *On this date in 1879, an exodus from slavery after reconstruction began in earnest. More than 900 Black families from Mississippi reached St....

  • Wed, 1882-10-18

    This date's Registry looks at the origins of the Chanteys in 1882. A Chantey is a style of choral singing associated with black slave labor in...

  • Tue, 1883-03-20

    *On this date in 1883, an African American inventor patented the first shoe lasting machine.

    Jan Matzeliger from Dutch Guiana...