Category: Episode

  • Thu, 1866-04-19

    On this date in 1866, the Black citizens of
    Washington, D.C., celebrated the abolition of slavery.

    A demonstration of 4,000 to 5,...

  • Tue, 1866-05-01

    *The Memphis riot occurred on this date in 1866. It was a race riot that lasted for three days and resulted in the deaths of forty-six Blacks...

  • Thu, 1866-06-28

    *On June 28, 1866, an Act of Congress authorized the creation of two cavalry and four infantry regiments, "which shall be composed of colored men...

  • Mon, 1866-07-30

    On this date in 1866, the New Orleans riot occurred.

    Angered by the enactment of the Black Codes in Louisiana, and by the legislature's...

  • Wed, 1867-02-06

    *On this date in 1867. The Peabody Fund was established. The Peabody Fund provided monies for construction, endowments, scholarships, teacher and...

  • Tue, 1867-11-19

    On this date in 1867, emancipated Blacks began influencing South Carolina politics, when citizens of the state endorsed their constitutional...

  • Mon, 1868-09-28

    On this date in 1868, the Opelousas massacre occurred. That city in Louisiana was the site where local Blacks lost their lives by violent whites...

  • Fri, 1868-10-16

    On this date in 1868, a Black senator was assassinated in South Carolina.

    B.F. Randolph, a member of the South Carolina State...

  • Tue, 1868-11-03

    On this date in 1868, the first Black man was elected to the U.S. Congress

    John Willis Menard defeated a White candidate, 5,107 to 2,833...

  • Wed, 1870-03-30

    *On this date in 1870, the Fifteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution was ratified. This guaranteed African American men the right to...

  • Tue, 1872-04-23

    On this date in 1872, Charlotte E. Ray became the first Black woman admitted to practice before the district Supreme Court (Washington D.C.)....

  • Sun, 1873-03-23

    On this date in 1873, Puerto Rico abolished slavery.

    Leaders of the Puerto Rican abolitionist movement, including José Jull6n Acosta,...

  • Sun, 1873-04-13

    *On this date in 1873, the Colfax Massacre happened. Also called the Colfax Riot, the violence erupted in Grant Parish Courthouse in Colfax,...

  • Mon, 1874-09-14

    *On this date in 1874, White Democrats seized the Louisiana statehouse in a takeover. This White resistance and occupation has been called the...

  • Tue, 1874-12-01

    *On this date in 1874, the Order of the Eastern Star was created. This is the oldest sorority-based Black women’s organization in America....

  • Mon, 1875-05-17

    On this date in 1875, the first Kentucky Derby was run with a Black man as the winning jockey.

    He (Oliver Lewis) rode three-year-old...

  • Wed, 1875-09-01

    *On this date in 1875, White Democrats attacked Republicans at Yazoo City, Mississippi. The riot happened because of the pressure on White...

  • Tue, 1875-11-02

    *On this date in 1875, The Mississippi Plan went into effect. Their state government was trying to prevent Black political participation using...

  • Tue, 1875-11-16

    On this date in 1875, Ethiopia won the Battle of Gundet over Egypt. This conflict was carefully observed in Black America due to a growing black...

  • Wed, 1876-05-03

    *On this date in 1876, a race riot happened in Indianapolis, Indiana over voting rights.

    Long after the 15th Amendment to the...