Category: Literature

  • Sun, 1541-11-01

    The word Negro is discussed on this dates Registry. This brief article and its references is written to add to the history of this word.

    ...
  • Sat, 1711-10-17

    Jupiter Hammonm a Black poet and the first published black writer in America, was born on this date in 1711.

    Hammon served several...

  • Thu, 1729-06-30

    The birth of Ignatius Sancho, a Black writer, in 1729 is celebrated on this date.

    He was born on a slave ship crossing the Atlantic...

  • Mon, 1730-10-23

    The birth of Lucy Terry, Black abolitionist, poet, and skilled orator, in 1730 is celebrated on this date. Although she was not a lawyer, she...

  • Fri, 1745-03-12

    *On this date in 1745, we remember the birth of Olaudah Equiano, an African slave, and author.

    From Nigeria, Equiano, also known as (...

  • Tue, 1753-05-08

    *Phillis Wheatley was born on this date 1753. She was a Black slave and writer.

    Born in Senegambia, Africa she was sold into slavery at...

  • Fri, 1793-02-15

    *The birth of Austin Steward in 1793 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black slave, businessman, administrator and biographer of his life as a...

  • Sat, 1797-03-25

    *The birth of George Moses Horton in 1797 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black poet, and publisher.

    Born in Northampton County, N.C...

  • Wed, 1799-02-06

    *The birth of Alexander Pushkin in 1799 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black Russian poet and the great-grandson of Abraham Hannibal, an...

  • Sat, 1802-07-24

    Alexandre Dumas was born on this date in 1802. He was a Black French man who was one of the more prolific writers in the 19th century theater...

  • Mon, 1805-07-29

    Alexis de Tocqueville was born this date in 1805. He was a White French journalist and abolitionist writer.

    He was born in Paris to...

  • Wed, 1815-05-10

    This date marks the birth of Henry Bibb in 1815. He was a Black author, editor, abolitionist, and advocate of emigration from the United States...

  • Fri, 1820-08-11

    *The birth of Ann Plato around 1820 is celebrated on this date. She was a nineteenth century Black educator and author.

    Plato was born...

  • Tue, 1825-03-15

    *Harriet Wilson was born on this date in1825. She was a Black slave and author.

    Harriet E. "Hattie" Adams Wilson was born in Milford,...

  • Sat, 1825-09-24

    Frances Ellen Watkins Harper was born on this date in 1825. She was a Black poet, writer, and lecturer, as well as an anti-slavery, women's...

  • Mon, 1826-04-03

    *On this date in 1826 James Bell was born. He was a Black poet, laborer and abolitionist.

    James Madison Bell was born in Gallipolis,...

  • Mon, 1828-05-26

    The birth of Lucy Ann Delaney, a Black writer, in 1828 is celebrated on this date.

    Lucy Ann Berry was born a slave in St. Louis, MO. She...

  • Thu, 1836-03-03

    *Henry Clay Bruce was born on this date in 1836. He was a Black writer.

    Born a slave in Virginia, his mother told him he was born the...

  • Sat, 1837-06-24

    On this date the Registry celebrates African American poetry.

    Through their culture and work, Black poets, forced by a dominant culture...

  • Sun, 1848-08-06

    *Susan King Taylor was born on this date in 1848. She was a Black writer.

    Born a slave on the Grest Farm in Liberty County, Georgia, her...