Category: Science/ Medicine

  • Thu, 1891-07-23

    This date marks the day Louis Tompkins Wright was born in 1891. He was an African American surgeon and hospital administrator.

    Born in...

  • Tue, 1892-04-26

    *Sarah Boone received a patent on this date 1892 for an appliance that would help to neatly iron clothing.

    This device, the forerunner to...

  • Tue, 1892-05-17

    This date marks the birth of Frederick McKinley Jones, an African American inventor, in 1893.

    Jones was born in Covington, Kentucky,...

  • Tue, 1892-08-23

    On this date in 1892, Oscar E. Brown, Buffalo, NY., invented the horseshoe.

    This patent number is 481,271.

    Reference:
    U.S....

  • Wed, 1894-06-20

    On this date in 1894, Lloyd Hall was born. He was an African American chemist.

    Lloyd August Hall Lloyd Hall was born in Elgin, IL. His...

  • Wed, 1895-08-28

    On this date in 1895, The Frederick Douglass Memorial Hospital and Training School was founded in Philadelphia by Dr. Nathan F. Mossell, a black...

  • Tue, 1895-11-26

    On this date in 1895, National Negro Medical Association (NNMA) was founded. Consisting of three major Black medical professions, they were...

  • Sat, 1895-12-07

    *Francis Sumner was born on this date in1895. He was an African American educator and psychologist. Francis Cecil Sumner was from Pine Bluff,...

  • Wed, 1896-04-15

    On this date in 1896, May Chinn was born. She was an African American physician.

    May Edward Chinn did not plan on becoming a doctor....

  • Sun, 1896-10-18

    On this date in 1896, the St. Agnes Hospital in Raleigh, NC, opened its doors, one of the first hospitals for Blacks in America.

    Its...

  • Tue, 1897-05-04

    On this date in 1897, African American inventor Joseph H. Smith patented the sprinkler.

    This African-American inventors Patent No. is #...

  • Sat, 1897-11-27

    On this date in 1897, Andrew Beard received a patent for a device he called the Jenny Coupler.

    The Jenny Coupler automatically joined...

  • Fri, 1898-05-27

    David Crosthwait, Jr. was born on this date in 1898. He was an African American electrical and mechanical engineer.

    Born in Nashville,...

  • Tue, 1898-11-08

    *On Maude Callen was born on this date in 1898. She was an African American nurse and midwife.

    Maude E. Callen was born in Quincy,...

  • Tue, 1899-04-11

    Dr. Percy Lavon Julian was born on this date in 1899. This African American research chemist was a pioneer in the chemical synthesis of drugs...

  • Sat, 1900-09-08

    *Major Franklin Spaulding was born on this date in 1900. He was an African American Agronomist.

    From Clarkston, North Carolina he...

  • Mon, 1900-09-17

    *Lena Frances Edwards was born on this date in 1900. She was an African American medical doctor.

    From Washington D. C. her parents were...

  • Fri, 1904-06-03

    On this date, in 1904, Dr. Charles Drew was born. He was an African American surgeon and hematologist who made pioneering discoveries about blood...

  • Tue, 1905-02-21

    *Samuel Nabrit was born on this date in 1905. He was an African American biologist, educator, and activist.

    Samuel Milton Nabrit was born...

  • Thu, 1905-04-06

    *William Warrick Cardozo was born on this date in 1905. He was an African American physician and pediatrician.

    From Washington D.C....