Category: Politics/Law/Military

  • Sun, 1210-05-16

    This date celebrates the birth of an African King Sundiata Keita, also known as Mari Diata, in approximately 1210.

    Keita was the founder...

  • Mon, 1487-05-29

    *The birth of Juan Garrido in 1487 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black African Spanish conquistador.

    Born in Africa, he went to...

  • Mon, 1487-09-04

    *This date celebrates the Zulu nation. The Zulu are the largest ethnic group in South Africa, with a population of approximately 8 million....

  • Sat, 1510-07-22

    The birth of Alessandro de Medici in 1510 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black Italian ruler during the 16th century.

    The son of a...

  • Sat, 1664-09-20

    *On this date in 1664, Maryland passed the first Anti amalgamation law. This law was intended to prevent marriages between Black men and English...

  • Tue, 1692-06-24

    Kingston Jamaica was founded on this date in 1692. It is the capital and chief port of Jamaica, an island nation in the West Indies. Kingston...

  • Thu, 1697-01-03

    On this date we celebrate the birth of Abram Hannibal in 1697. He was an African slave who became a major general and military engineer in Russia...

  • Wed, 1723-11-17

    On this date in 1723, we celebrate the birth of Crispus Attucks. He was a Black merchant and patriot.

    Little is known about the early...

  • Tue, 1744-05-19

    *Princess Sophie Charlotte was born on this date in 1744. She was the first Black Queen of England.

    Charlotte was the eighth child of...

  • Tue, 1748-12-10

    *James Lafayette’s birth in 1748 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black slave and American patriot.

    Born on William Armistead's New...

  • Thu, 1750-10-01

    The birth of Peter Salem in 1750 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black soldier and patriot.

    Though Salem’s birth year is not certain...

  • Fri, 1750-10-30

    The birth of Salem Poor around 1750 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black patriot during the Revolutionary War.

    Poor was a free...

  • Sun, 1774-03-13

    *The birth of Rose Fortune in 1774 is celebrated on this date. She was a Black law enforcement officer and businesswoman.

    Fortune was...

  • Thu, 1776-07-04

    On this date in 1776, the Declaration of Independence was adopted. This document affected Blacks in two significant ways distinct from other U.S...

  • Mon, 1777-03-17

    *Roger Brooke Taney was born on this date in 1777. He was a White American lawyer and judge who supported slavery.

    Born in Calvert County...

  • Wed, 1777-07-02

    On this date in 1777, Vermont abolished slavery.

    Vermont was an independent sovereign country that year and did not join the United...

  • Sat, 1778-08-29

    On this date in 1778, the Black, elite First Rhode Island regiment defeated three assaults by British troops at the battle of Rhode Island (...

  • Thu, 1787-06-28

    The birth of Black Seminole warrior Abraham is celebrated on this date in 1787. He was an African Native American soldier and politician.

    ...
  • Wed, 1787-07-11

    John Quincy Adams was born on this date in 1767. He was a White American diplomat, politician, opponent of slavery, and the fourth president of...

  • Thu, 1787-07-12

    On this date in 1787, the Three-fifths Compromise was enacted. Delegates to the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia that year accepted a...