Category: Politics/Law/Military

  • Sat, 1825-02-26

    *James Skivring Smith was born on this date in 1825. He was a Black doctor and politician.

    A native of Charleston, South Carolina,...

  • Mon, 1825-02-28

    *The birth of Andre Cailloux in 1825 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black businessman and soldier in the Civil War.

    Cailloux was...

  • Thu, 1825-03-17

    *This date remembers Benjamin Sterling Turner born in 1825. He was a Black businessman, politician, and the first Black member of the House of...

  • Tue, 1825-04-12

    This date recalls the birth of Richard Harvey Cain born in 1825. He was a Black political and civic leader of the Charleston, South Carolina...

  • Fri, 1825-08-12

    *Orindatus Wall was born on this date in 1825. He was a black lawyer, businessman and Union Army officer.

    Orindatus Simon Bolivar Wall...

  • Wed, 1829-12-02

    *Charles Vanderburgh was born on this date in 1829. He was a white American lawyer, abolitionist and judge.

    Born in Saratoga County, New...

  • Tue, 1829-12-15

    This date marks the birth in 1829 of John Mercer Langston, an African American abolitionist, attorney, educator, and political activist.

    ...
  • Thu, 1832-06-21

    On this date in 1832, Joseph Hayne Rainey was born. A former slave, he was the first Black man to serve in the U.S. House of Representatives (...

  • Fri, 1832-08-03

    *On this date we recall the birth of Edward Wilmot Blyden in 1832. He was a Black Nationalist and Repatriations advocate.

    From St. Thomas...

  • Wed, 1833-10-16

    Ebenezer Don Carlos Bassett, a Black diplomat, was born on this date in 1833.

    He was born in Litchfield, CT, he was also of Pequot Indian...

  • Fri, 1834-01-03

    On this date, Alonzo Jacob Ransier was born in 1834. He was an African American politician known for his honesty.

    Born free in...

  • Sun, 1834-05-11

    On this date we mark the birth of Thomas Chester in 1834, in Harrisburg, PA. He was an Black lawyer and editor.

    Thomas Morris Chester was...

  • Sat, 1835-01-10

    *Charles Trowbridge was born on this date in 1835. He was a White American soldier, abolitionist, and politician.

    Charles Tyler...

  • Wed, 1835-08-19

    *The birth of Silas Jefferson in 1835 is celebrated on this date. He was an African, Native soldier and politican of the Creek Tribe in America...

  • Fri, 1836-02-05

    On this day in 1836, Jefferson Franklin Long, a Black tailor, storekeeper, politician, and educator, was born.

    Long was born a slave in...

  • Wed, 1837-02-01

    *This date marks the birth of Francis Louis Cardozo in 1837.

    He was a Black minister, educator, and politician; the first African American...

  • Fri, 1837-04-28

    *William Hall was born on this date in 1827. He was a Black Canadian mariner.

    Born at Horton's Bluff, Nova Scotia, he was the son of a...

  • Wed, 1837-05-10

    On this date we mark the birth of Pinckney Benton Stewart Pinchback. He was a Black Civil War officer and politician.

    Born in Macon, GA...

  • Tue, 1838-03-06

    *Benjamin W. Arnett was born on this date in 1838. He was a Black administrator, politician, and minister.

    Arnett was a Republican...

  • Tue, 1838-04-03

    *John Willis Menard was born on this date in 1838. He was a Black politician.

    From Kalkaska, Ill., he was the first Black elected to the...