Category: Politics/Law/Military

  • Sat, 1848-10-21

    This date celebrates The Free-Soil Party, a minor but influential political party in the pre-Civil War period of American history.

    The...

  • Fri, 1848-11-24

    *The birth of John Ward in 1847 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black Seminole scout in the U.S. Army and a Medal of Honor Recipient....

  • Tue, 1849-01-09

    *The birth of Pompey Factor in 1849 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black Seminole scout for the U.S. Army during the Indian Wars.

    ...
  • Sun, 1849-06-17

    This date marks the birth of Thomas Ezekiel Miller in 1849. He was a Black politician and educator who was elected to the South Carolina Congress...

  • Sat, 1852-12-18

    On this date, George Henry White was born in 1852. He was a Black lawyer, politician, schoolteacher, and administrator.

    White was born a...

  • Thu, 1853-09-22

    *This date spotlights the birth of George Washington Murray in 1853. He was a Black farmer, politician, teacher and inventor.

    He was...

  • Fri, 1854-08-25

    *The birth of Isaac Payne in 1854 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black Seminole scout in the U.S. Army.

    Payne was born near...

  • Thu, 1854-12-28

    Thomas McCants Stewart was born on this date in 1854. He was a Black attorney, educator, and minister.

    He was born in Charleston, SC....

  • Mon, 1855-01-15

    *John Cheatham was born on this date in 1855. He was a Black Pullman Porter and Minnesota Fireman.

    Born into slavery in St. Louis,...

  • Sat, 1855-07-28

    *On this date in 1855, the USS Constellation was commissioned. Now housed in the Baltimore harbor, this is the last surviving battle ship of the...

  • Fri, 1856-03-21

    *This date marks the birth of Henry Ossian Flipper who was the first Black man to graduate from West Point. He came from a family of slaves, born...

  • Sun, 1857-12-27

    On this date in 1857, Henry Plummer Cheatham was born. He was a Black politician and a member of the House of Representatives in North Carolina...

  • Tue, 1858-10-19

    *Allan Minns was born on this date 1858. He was a Black British doctor and politician and the first black man to become a mayor in England. He...

  • Wed, 1859-11-23

    *The birth of Warner T. McGuinn on November 23rd 1859 is celebrated on this date. He was an African American lawyer and politician.

    ...

  • Sun, 1860-01-22

    *Walter Louis Cohen was born on this date in 1860. He was an African American politician and businessman.

    Cohen was born a free man of...

  • Mon, 1861-10-28

    On this date in 1861, we mark the birth of Fredrick L. McGhee. He was an African American lawyer and civil rights activist.

    From...

  • Mon, 1862-08-04

    *On this date in 1862, the 1st Kansas Volunteer Colored Infantry was formed. This was the first official regiment of Blacks serving in the...

  • Sun, 1862-12-07

    On this date in 1862, Fort Negley, Nashville, TN, was completed. This military facility was built during the American Civil War mainly with Black...

  • Fri, 1863-05-22

    On this date in 1863 in North Carolina, the United States Department of War established the Bureau of Colored Troops, to help the Union Army...

  • Mon, 1863-06-08

    *John Archer was born on this date in 1863. He was a Black British lawyer, and politician.

    From Liverpool, England his father, Richard...