Category: Politics/Law/Military

  • Mon, 1891-06-22

    On this date in 1891, Earl B. Dickerson was born. He was an African American attorney, teacher, and businessman.

    Born in Canton,...

  • Fri, 1892-07-15

    *Henry Johnson was born on this date in 1892. He was a decorated African American soldier in WW1.

    Born in Winston-Salem, North Carolina...

  • Sat, 1892-07-16

    On this date in 1892, Frank Crosswaith was born. He was an African American labor union organizer and political activist.

    He was born in...

  • Sat, 1892-07-23

    Halie Selassie was born on this date in 1892. He was an African dictator and political force in 20th century Ethiopia.

    Selassie was born...

  • Fri, 1893-10-20

    On this date in 1893, we celebrate the birth of Jomo Kenyatta. He was an African political leader, and the first president of Kenya.

    He...

  • Wed, 1894-06-27

    On this date, Crystal Bird Fauset was born. She was the first African American woman to be elected to a state house of representatives.

    ...
  • Tue, 1894-08-07

    *Mark Matthews was born this date in 1894. He was an African American Buffalo Soldier.

    From in Greenville, Ala., Mathews grew up in...

  • Tue, 1895-09-03

    *This date marks the birth of Charles Hamilton Houston in 1895. He was one of the most important African American lawyers of the twentieth...

  • Wed, 1895-10-09

    Eugene Bullard was born on this date in 1895. He was an African American aviator and, according to many, the first Black military pilot.

    ...
  • Mon, 1896-05-18

    On this date in 1896, the Supreme Court upheld Plessy v. Ferguson. This “separate but equal” Louisiana decree marked the formal beginning of Jim...

  • Mon, 1896-12-28

    Theodore Sylvester Boone was born on this date in 1896. He was an African American attorney, pastor, author, and editor.

    Born in...

  • Mon, 1897-06-14

    *Alfred J. Gomes was born on this date in 1897. He was an African American Attorney, and activist.

    From the Cape Verdean Islands, he came...

  • Sun, 1898-01-02

    On this date Sadie Alexander, an African American lawyer and activist was born in in 1898.

    Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander was a pioneer...

  • Tue, 1898-02-08

    *On this date in 1898, the “Grandfather Clause” was enacted for voting purposes.

    The Grandfather Clause was a legal or constitutional...

  • Thu, 1898-10-13

    This date marks the birth of Raymond Pace Alexander in 1898. He was a lawyer, politician, and judge and the first African American to hold a...

  • Thu, 1898-10-13

    On this date in 1898, Edith Sampson was born in Pittsburgh, the first black woman elected judge to a municipal court.

    She was born Edith...

  • Sun, 1899-02-26

    *Alexander Tureaud was born on this date in 1899. He was an African American Attorney and civil rights leader.

    Alexander Pierre Tureaud...

  • Thu, 1899-03-02

    *The birth of Clifford Durr in 1899 is marked on this date. He was a White American lawyer.

    Durr was born into a prominent patrician...

  • Sat, 1899-04-08

    *Z. Alexander Looby was born on his date in 1899. He was an African American lawyer and businessman.

    Zephaniah Alexander Looby was from...

  • Sun, 1899-07-16

    Eunice Hunton Carter was born on this date in 1899. She was an African American lawyer and the first Black woman to be a district attorney in the...