Search

If you are looking for a specific episode, event or place, the Keyword Link is for you. Just type in a word or phrase to begin your search.

Birthdays are one of the most important dates of the year for each of us. Matching yours with other people or events is fun and easy. The similarity with others is fascinating and sometimes they hold truths and indicators of our place in life. Begin your search by selecting the month and date search boxes.

Enter any keyword(s). ie. Names, events places

  • Sun, 2007-06-10

    On this date in 2007, the first Black driver won a Formula One (F1) Motorsport Race.

    Lewis Hamilton, a 22-year old rookie born in...

  • Thu, 2007-06-21

    On this date in 2007, a ship bearing the name Amistad once again sailed the Atlantic. This voyage would trace, for the next 16 months, the 19th-...

  • Wed, 2007-09-19

    *On this date in 2007 David Bowie donated $10,000 to a legal defense fund for the “Jena Six”. The Jena Six are six black teens charged in an...

  • Thu, 2007-09-20

    *On this date in 2007, Thousands of chanting civil rights demonstrators filled the streets of Jena Louisiana.

    They came in support of...

  • Fri, 2007-09-21

    *On this date in 2007, two students were shot and wounded at Delaware State University. The campus was locked down as police searched for a...

  • Sun, 2007-09-30

    On this date in 2007, a Black University of Memphis football player was fatally shot on campus in what police believe was a targeted attack....

  • Tue, 2007-12-18

    On this date in 2007, Jacob Zuma was elected leader of the governing African National Congress (ANC).

    Zuma, a populist whose political...

  • Tue, 2008-01-08

    On this date in 2008, New Jersey officially expressed regret for its role in "perpetuating the institution of slavery."

    On that date,...

  • Fri, 2008-01-11

    On this date in 2008, Sprinter Marion Jones was sentenced to six months in prison for lying about using steroids and for check fraud. The...

  • Mon, 2008-01-21

    *On this date in 2008 About 50 white separatists protested the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday in JENA, La.

    Police separated...

  • Tue, 2008-03-18

    *On this date in 2008, Barack Obama gave a speech on race during his first presidential campaign. A storm was threatening to overwhelm his path...

  • Wed, 2008-03-26

    *On this date in 2008, more than 140 years after a former Florida governor described Africans as "a wild barbarian to be tamed and civilized,"...

  • Sun, 2008-05-18

    *On this date in 2008, The NAACP selected Benjamin Todd Jealous as its president. ...

  • Wed, 2008-06-04

    On this date in 2008, Senator Barack Obama of Illinois won the Democratic presidential nomination.

    This historic step made him the...

  • Thu, 2008-06-05

    *On this date in 2008, every major league baseball baseball team symbolically drafted a surviving member of the Negro Leagues.

    This...

  • Tue, 2008-07-29

    *On this date in 2008, The House of Representatives passed a resolution apologizing to African Americans for slavery and the era of Jim Crow....

  • Fri, 2008-10-03

    *On this date in 2008, O.J. Simpson was convicted on all charges in his Las Vegas kidnapping and robbery trial.

    He was taken into...

  • Tue, 2008-11-04

    On this date in 2008 Barack Obama became the first Black man to be elected president of the United States of America.

    Obama, the...

  • Fri, 2008-12-26

    December 26 is the first day of Kwanzaa or Umoja, meaning Unity.

    Kwanzaa was founded by Dr. Maulana Kareng in 1966.
    Umoja is the...

  • Sat, 2008-12-27

    This date is the second day of Kwanzaa or Kujichaguli, meaning Self-determination.

    This second principle of the Nguzo Saba expresses...